How I Clean my Makeup Brushes

Cleaning your makeup brushes is one of those things where you don’t always want to do it, but it must be done, to avoid bacteria build-up and therefore spreading it all around your face. Clean makeup brushes also help with your skin care of course! Today I thought I would show you how I clean my makeup brushes.

But first lets begin with what you will need!:

  • Your cleaning product, I’m using baby shampoo because it is very mild and makes the bristles super soft without actually damaging them!
  • A clean towel
  • Your sink
  • and of course your brushes!

Now here’s how I clean my brushes:

I start by Dampening the brushes with warm water, but not too hot because hot water can damage the bristles.

IMG_6957Then I add a blob of baby shampoo. I gently lather the brush, to give it a deep clean. Occasionally adding a bit more water to aid the lathering process.

IMG_6954Run the tap and swirl the brush in the palms of your hands to remove the excess shampoo. If your washing a  particularly dense brush, you may have to repeat the last few steps to remove all the excess makeup.

IMG_6953Squeeze out the excess water and gently pat dry with a towel so that your brushes are not soaked. It is also important to reshape your brushes when wet, so do that if needed. Lastly lay your brushes flat to dry on your towel. If you prefer you can hang them up, but I decided to just lay them flat.

Leave a Reply

